Words I said

It’s been a while since I last blogged, somehow I haven’t been inspired much lately been busy fighting my own demons within. Anyway I’m back now! Actually I’m just random blogging today over coffee while waiting for someone, some Lupe Fiasco playing in the background: Words I never said to be exact, it’s actually one of those songs that just touches me right there. Somehow it got me thinking about how lately I’ve said some words I wish I could take back, but I can’t.
You know that slip of the tongue moment when you say something over an argument, and you wish you could take it back? We’ve all had that foot in mouth moments that leave a bad taste in your mouth, when you cringe and can’t believe what you just said. But the power words have, is too immense, sometimes we may blurt out hurtful words without realizing the effect it has on someone. We’ve all been a victim of it one way or another, I know I have from being bullied in school way back, or from friends who make comments that hurt you I could go on and on, but I’m sure you get my drift.
As I write this, I’m sitting here waiting for a close friend of mine, who just called me and said she needed to talk to someone. You see, she’s been going through some verbal abuse from her better half. Personally, verbal abuse for me is worse than physical abuse, you see with the physical someone hurts you on the outside which is visible to all and sundry, but with verbal abuse, the words sink in on your emotions and mentally destroys, and makes you believe what someone says yet the damage is not visible on the outside. Yet I will sit here, offer her words of comfort tell her everything will be alright that she should get out of the relationship, but truth be told, I will tell her what she wants to hear, why? Because I fear she may not be able to handle the truth. If I may quote Lupe; “Fear is such a weak emotion that’s why I despise it, we scared of almost everything afraid to even tell the truth. So scared of what you think of me, I’m so scared of even telling you. Sometimes I feel like I’m the only person I feel safe to tell it to”. But this is one of those times I guess, the truth needs to be told no matter how hurtful it may be. What I’m trying to get at is that we need to choose our words carefully at times, we may not know the damage our words would cause, or how they would mean to someone. How many times do you work your butt off, or go out of your way for someone, yet they never show their appreciation and you’re left wondering if Thank you is such big word for some people to use? They don’t call them magic words for nothing, sorry and Thank you go along way. Or when someone is sick or lost a loved one, just being there to offer them a few words of encouragement always means a lot to them. I was going through a very rough patch the last couple of months, but what kept me going is comforting words from close friends sometimes bland piercing words that I needed to here, but it got me through my dark cloud. So go on, be nice and be careful about what you say, because you can never take it back, no matter how much you would want to. Let me take you to church a bit, in the book of Proverbs 15:2 it says; The tongue of wise ones does good with knowledge, but the mouth of the stupid ones bubbles forth with foolishness{ Can I get an Amen!} Well that’s my daily rumblings for today, as I’m here drowning in my regrets with words I wish I didn’t say to someone, I’ve learned to muzzle my mouth as it were while having arguments because it’s never nothing but words, you can never take them back. My friend is here now; please excuse me while I try to apply what I’ve just written here. As always,
Peace and Blessings, Vionna

Leave a Reply

