Misplaced Beauty

ok this poem was inspired by my African women..it was actually one of my very first poems…as Ludacris says,the best women are in Africa….
MISPLACED BEAUTY

Am stuck in a limbo,
To flaunt my African beauty,
Or hide my African booty?
They say am too ethnic, that am not authentic
To whose standards, theirs or mine?
So now they’ve got me bleaching my brown skin
I guess true beauty doesn’t come from within
Am ashamed of my natural locks…because they make me to shaggy to get an office job
My spring curled hair
Traumatized with relaxers
For it to be sleek and straight
Forcing me to give in to their bait
You see am not doing this out of naivety
But because am a misplaced beauty

Giving in to their western cultures
My nose is too wide
My lips too luscious
My beautiful African behind too big and flabby for them
My wide African hips that ease my load while carrying their offspring, now too wide for them?!
Mama taught me to be proud of my roots
But now am acting all insecure about my looks
Trying to squeeze in into their mould
Of what true beauty should be…
They end up misplacing my beauty

You see they adored me before, with sweet names like ebony
They rode my hips like a sweet melody
The gap in between my teeth,
Was a marvel for them to see
My kinky afro, made their eyes glow
But then I gave in to their desires
And let them destroy my African beauty
Replacing it with an anorexic, plastic body, skinny looking malnourished African
Damn, I am a shapely African queen
Am proud of my wide nose,
My big behind
My shapely hips
The gap in between my fine chiseled teeth
Ooohhh my sweet pout lips
I aint getting rid of the cellulite, you see I’ve seen the light
Am no longer a misplaced beauty
Because I know you are dying to caress
This beautiful African Goddess!

Leave a Reply

